Four Green Squares

the tiny little blog no-one will ever read

Omg, omg, omg April 10, 2013

Filed under: the way it is,writing — FourGreenSquares @ 5:34 pm
Tags:

Omg, omg, omg…

Uh, yes I have just edited two chapters, copy edited an optics ms and written a scene, to the point I have words leaking from my ears.

Shakes head vigorously, splattering walls with excess verbiage

And precisely because I spend so much time using Word (as well as words) that I can say without hesitation:

Omg omg omg

This…changes…so much…

Did you know, perchance, that if you press shift+f3 in Word, it cycles selected text through ALL CAPS, Initial Cap, and lowercase?

Sadly, a not insignif. part of an academic copy editor’s job involves swapping headers and titles into stylesheet-compliant formats. I’ll no longer have to retype ‘Introduction’, ‘Conclusion,’ or ‘References’ approx 1000 times a day. Give or take just a few.

I feel like Homer Simpson when he realised that the pecking bird only needed to hit ‘Y’ instead of Y-E-S: “Marge, I’ve just tripled my productivity!”

I’m not quite sure what I will do with this newfound bounty of free time. In keeping with Homer, though, I can say one thing: it definitely won’t be housework!

 

One Response to “Omg, omg, omg”

  1. Susan Says:

    I’m not sure I get all the ramifications of your discovery. But yeah for anything that reduces work!


Leave a Reply

