Four Green Squares

the tiny little blog no-one will ever read

in which there is news March 24, 2012

Filed under: clarion — FourGreenSquares @ 6:51 pm

Ahem. If I may draw your attention to the column to your right, to the list of categories.

I have a shiny new tag, for what I hope will be an interesting bunch of posts. So, what tag is that, you ask, ‘late night thoughts’? What’s so great about that?

No, no, look closer. Up one. If I could put it up there in a blinking font that shot rainbows and lasers out of your monitor, I would. But I think we are both relieved that I cannot. So I’ll give a hint: C…. CL…. CLA….

CLARION!!!!

Too bad that the inaugural entry will amount to “AHHHHHAAAAEEEE!!” But in the interests of honesty, I have to report events as they happened. Those were my exact words (noises?) when I learned of my acceptance to the 2012 Clarion Writers’ Workshop at UCSD.

I was home with the little one when I found out.  I stared at the subject line of the email in a daze (I’d not expected to hear anything for at least a week, because I’d been anticipating a rejection), then let out the aforementioned whoop.

The little one gave me an enthusiastic ovation then dropped her My Little Ponies to join me in twirling dance-like manoeuvre in the middle of the lounge, giggling as she wondered why her mummy had gone a bit bonkers, but going along as it meant I wasn’t paying attention to bedtimes.

But now that I am here, I can say it again: “AHHHHHAAAAEEEE, I’m going to Clarion.”

It’s still sinking in and I can’t wait.

 

One Response to “in which there is news”

  1. Sadie Says:

    Yay! Wow, I’m so glad there’s another parent going. My boys are going to be 3 and 5 in June. How old is your little one(s)?


Leave a Reply

